What our customers say

The choice of an E Bike

My old mountain bike and myself were getting a bit tired and riding was not so pleasant anymore. After talking with other oldies who were having fun again on E Bikes I decided this was for me. After a lot of research and trials I purchased a Hybrid Elite E bike and I have not been disappointed. At 77 years old it has renewed my pleasure of biking. In the short time I have had it I have ridden nearly 1000kms on all sorts of paths and trails. From Kinloch on Lake Taupo I even tackled the Great Lake Trail, a grade3 intermediate ride and the Hybrid handled it like a champion. What a great track with great views I still get a buzz just remembering it. I thoroughly recommend the Hybrid Elite E bike. It is everything you could ask for and more. All components are top of the line and the carbon fibre frame makes it lighter than most which is a must for lifting onto my bike carrier. Thank you Hybrid Your service and backup is second to none.

 

Vern Herdman

2019-Apr-02

Hello Frank,

I’ve been meaning to let you know just how much Lyal and I have been enjoying our Hybrid bikes. We’re riding three or four times a week for recreation and I’m commuting to all my work jobs on my bike and have clocked up almost 600kms already.

The Hybrid is perfect for the riding we like to do. It’s so much lighter than my previous ebike and very responsive on hills.

We ride the local trails and have found the tyres you chose for us are perfectly suited. All my concerns about the comfort of the seat, the handlebars and hand grips have vanished; how you’ve set the bikes up works really well. They are a pleasure to ride and I don’t get the sore hands and neck I used to feel riding my old bike for any duration.

Lyal Cocks

 

“My Hybrid bike has opened up a whole new universe of cycling for me. I can now contemplate doing rides which, before, seemed too long and hard”.

Marion

 

“I love how versatile my Hybrid bike is. I can use it for work, monitoring the Great Taste Trail, and ride it on a variety of terrain, on and off trail, with absolute confidence.’

Bill

 

‘I’ve started a new love affair….with my new Hybrid bike. I’ve named it ‘Mariah’ because it goes like the wind!’

Marion

 

‘We couldn’t have asked for better service from Frank and Jim at Hybrid bikes. They really looked after us. We feel like we are in very capable hands, as we can trust in their on-going interest and pasion for these bikes.

Marion and Bill

 

“It felt really good to be buying local, and buying such an excellent product.”

Bill

Hi Frank, answer to your Questions:

Why did you buy an e-bike?

 

We really enjoy cycling locally and on 3 or 4 day trips at least once a year, so we decided it would be best for Lorraine to upgrade to an E bike. We went looking and it was then that I also decided that in order to stick together I should also invest in one……we are both over 70!

 

Why did you choose a Hybrid e-bike?

 

We had a look around at various makes and models and came across your website, so contacted you and enjoyed the fact that you were very accommodating and invited us to view your own manufactured Hybrids and try them out, we immediately were impressed and decided they suited very well and made the decision to purchase. Of course on of the deciding factors was the fact they were your own design.

 

What advantage do you see with Carbon Fiber?

 

Probably the weight factor, we have a motor home and the less weight the better, the fact being carbon fibre makes them look great, smooth lines, nice! Cheers……Alan & Lorraine

 

Alan & Loraine McKenzie

2019-Apr-14

My wife and I purchased 2 F18 Cruise Elite Specials in December 2020 and so far we have not been disappointed. The bikes are high quality, fantastic to ride and backed up by outstanding end-to-end service and support form Frank. We wanted something that we could enjoy on NZ trails (winery tracks!) and roads and they have been perfect. Their design and style gives you the confidence to ride safely with plenty of power required when needed coupled with great distance range. They have also generated a lot of interest with people asking us about them and where we bought them. If you have any doubt, read the reviews! A great purchase and happy to highly recommend Hybrid Bikes.

Lyndon

Totally happy with my Hybrid Sport Elite choice

Frank/Jim

 

I purchased the first Hybrid Sport Elite bike in November 2018 and had it set up with a custom fitted handle bar including (those bull horn bar thingees!!) I didn’t want a hard out mountain bike, just one that was more sporty looking than the Hybrid Commuter. In addition to using it on urban and rural cycle ways I also wanted to be able to take it on easier off road tracks and trails. After 6 months of use this bike with its powerful motor has ticked all the boxes for me. Head winds and hills are not a problem! The bike also has powerful front and rear lights for those early morning commutes to work. Totally happy with my Hybrid Sport Elite choice.

 

Geoff Cameron

2019-Apr-16

Happiness is my Hybrid. The carbon fibre frame makes it so light I can bike with no power when I’m feeling like a ‘workout’ but I have the power when I need it. Frank and Kim are great to deal with – nothing’s a problem and they are genuinely passionate about their MOST EXCELLENT Hybrids, as am I. One happy Hybrid owner.
Thanks Frank and Jim.

Diane Turner

2000Km on a Sports Elite

In November 2018 I purchased the first ever Hybrid Sport Elite. This weekend after 11 months of cruisy biking I turned over 2000 km on the Abel Tasman Track in Golden Bay. The Sport Elite has eclipsed all my expectations. The bike is light to ride, has great power and takes me places I wouldn’t have gone on my conventional bike. In a nutshell its been a whole lot of painless peddling fun.

Geoff

2019-Oct-14

FANTASTIC to ride

The Hybrid Sport Elite mountain bike is one amazing bike. I wish I had lots more time to spend on it. The performance is unreal, grunty on all terrain, and especially on hill work. The carbon fibre frame, along with its geometric design construction, makes these bikes phenomenally easy and comfortable to ride. On my extensive research before purchasing, I found the Hybrid bikes performance above and beyond a number of top-end well known branded bikes on the market, and at a very competitive price. To sum it up, FANTASTIC to ride.

Peter Hewitt

2019-Apr-27

 

Search and Rescue

The bike trialed was a Hybrid brand E-bike developed in Nelson by Frank Witowski. The bike was put to test on a 50km loop from Marsden Valley and return, via Barnicoat Hill, Jenkins Hill, Third House, Coppermine saddle returning via the Maitai Valley to Nelson City and back to Marsden Rd via the Railway Reserve over Bishopdale Hill.

The bike climbed Glider Rd to the top of Barnicoat effortlessly by using a range of power options available. I estimate an all up weight carried at approx 119 kgs bike inclusive, being rider and gear. The bike has a great range using electric assist and traditional gear shifting. The whole journey on a single battery took me 3 hours 45 minutes which was very good. Total altitude over the 50km loop was 1357m using info from my Suunto Ambit watch. I found the bike well balanced and still pleasantly rideable without power assist.

The question being asked is whether or not an E-bike has a place in SAR operations, after my recent quest my initial thought on this question is a big YES.

Aaron Hunter

2019-Jan-09

Facebook Reviews

Hybrid Bikes Ltd
5.0
Based on 9 reviews
powered by Facebook
David Savage
David Savage
2021-03-30T21:55:28+0000
Hi Frank Great to finally catch up with you a couple of weeks ago. Have just had the bike into the boys at Cranked Cycles Napier for 2000k service. They also fitted the rear... guard you specifically made for me. Apart from 1 blowout and 1 puncture it has been 2000ks trouble free cycling. It was great for you to share your knowledge with us when we visited and we appreciated your wisdom and help. Trust there are many more Ks to be pedalled around the cycle ways in the Bayread more
Harry Harrison
Harry Harrison
2021-03-01T21:21:52+0000
First thing is I have had my M18 Speedmaster Hybrid bike since Jan 2019, and have enjoyed commuting, road and trail riding since then. When I recently had a motor problem I... emailed Frank who phoned me back within 30 minutes. Over the phone we developed a plan which had him sending a replacement motor to my local shop. In conjunction with the shop, MyRide Westgate, everything came together and I was back enjoying my biking. Not only is the bike enjoyable but dealing with Frank is so easy and friendly. I do recommend this bike and its support package to anyone who will listen. Thanks team keep up the great work.read more
Bubba Hallinan
Bubba Hallinan
2021-02-12T05:49:00+0000
My wife and I purchased 2 F18 Cruise Elite Specials in December 2020 and so far we have not been disappointed. The bikes are high quality, fantastic to ride and backed up by... outstanding end-to-end service and support from Frank. We wanted something that we could enjoy on NZ trails (winery tracks!) and roads and they have been perfect. Their design and style gives you the confidence to ride safely with plenty of power required when needed coupled with great distance range. They have also generated a lot of interest with people asking us about them and where we bought them. If you have any doubt, read the reviews! A great purchase and happy to highly recommend Hybrid Bikes.read more
Glynis Te Maipi-Kemp
Glynis Te Maipi-Kemp
2021-01-27T21:41:56+0000
From the first email with Frank (followed quickly by a phone call) the service and care from Hybrid bikes has been second-to-none. Frank and Jim are true professionals with a... passion for bikes and riding. They have both gone above what any shop or larger outfit would do to build the right bike for me, inviting me to visit them in Nelson (which I did), followed by many emails and phone calls to ensure things were correct and going the way we all wanted. More recently I had a slight issue with my battery and Frank was onto the fix within minutes. And I mean that literally; he’d rung me, chatted through things, then couriered what I needed, all within 30 minutes. I can’t rate Hybrid highly enough. This has been the best experience when purchasing and owning a bike (and I have five) so far.read more
Kim Steve Fensom
Kim Steve Fensom
2020-10-27T03:11:12+0000
Got my e-bike a month ago - first ride from Paeroa to Te Aroha 46km return - it was amazing have the extra help when you feel a bit tired or a head wind - the bike is very simple... and easy to use - my husband bought a more well known brand of ebike with higher specs the hybrid had no trouble keeping up so really pleased with my purchase. I first saw an article about hybrid bikes in an Air New Zealand magazine - and thought if I ever buy an e-bike that would be the one I would like - well due to covid and not traveling overseas it has become a reality. Thank you Frank and the team at My Ride Botany I am one happy cyclist.read more

Google Reviews

Hybrid Bikes Ltd
5.0
Based on 11 reviews
powered by Google
Diane Turner
Diane Turner
05:31 13 Feb 21
Happiness is my Hybrid. The carbon fibre frame makes it so light I can bike with no power when I’m feeling like a ‘workout’ but I have the power, when I need... it. Frank and Jim are great to deal with - nothings a problem and they are genuinely passionate about their MOST EXCELLENT Hybrids, as am I. One happy Hybrid owner .. thanks Frank and Jim.read more
Greg Biggs
Greg Biggs
08:33 06 Feb 21
I had heard all the reviews so decided I had to try one myself. 50k later, I'm blown away, these are fantastic.... soo much lighter than our friends... electrics that we did our ride with. Also, our friends electric shut down with 25% charge.read more
Laura Trueman
Laura Trueman
08:32 06 Feb 21
We rode today for the first time in 2 years so not really at peak fitness levels however on Frank's Hybrid Bikes we took on over 50kms without a second... thought. The seats were uber comfortable with full suspension making going over bumps and holes a breeze . Highly recommend these as the best electric bikes on the market. Tailored to what we wanted so definitely the personal touch. Frank knows his stuff.read more
KIM WALLACE-THEXTON
KIM WALLACE-THEXTON
02:12 30 Nov 20
We bought our bikes a few months ago and couldn't be happier with them. The bikes have been custom built to our spec and are therefore so comfy to ride You can... choose how soft you want your seat and how upright a riding style you prefer (amongst other things) Great for all the cycle ways being constructed. Would highly recommend.read more
Chris Walmsley
Chris Walmsley
06:58 24 Oct 19
Frank and jimmy spent plenty of time explaining about their bike story. Had a test ride , brilliant , easy operation and effortless. My models in development,... keep up the great work. Well doneread more
See All Reviews

CUSTOMER CARE

You can breathe easy knowing that our New Zealand based customer care team is available 7 days a week. If you have questions about any aspect of HYBRID E-Bikes including sales, technical or warranty, we are ready to help.