What our customers say

The choice of an E Bike

My old mountain bike and myself were getting a bit tired and riding was not so pleasant anymore. After talking with other oldies who were having fun again on E Bikes I decided this was for me. After a lot of research and trials I purchased a Hybrid Elite E bike and I have not been disappointed. At 77 years old it has renewed my pleasure of biking. In the short time I have had it I have ridden nearly 1000kms on all sorts of paths and trails. From Kinloch on Lake Taupo I even tackled the Great Lake Trail, a grade3 intermediate ride and the Hybrid handled it like a champion. What a great track with great views I still get a buzz just remembering it. I thoroughly recommend the Hybrid Elite E bike. It is everything you could ask for and more. All components are top of the line and the carbon fibre frame makes it lighter than most which is a must for lifting onto my bike carrier. Thank you Hybrid Your service and backup is second to none.

 

Vern Herdman

2019-Apr-02

Hello Frank,

I’ve been meaning to let you know just how much Lyal and I have been enjoying our Hybrid bikes. We’re riding three or four times a week for recreation and I’m commuting to all my work jobs on my bike and have clocked up almost 600kms already.

The Hybrid is perfect for the riding we like to do. It’s so much lighter than my previous ebike and very responsive on hills.

We ride the local trails and have found the tyres you chose for us are perfectly suited. All my concerns about the comfort of the seat, the handlebars and hand grips have vanished; how you’ve set the bikes up works really well. They are a pleasure to ride and I don’t get the sore hands and neck I used to feel riding my old bike for any duration.

Lyal Cocks

 

“My Hybrid bike has opened up a whole new universe of cycling for me. I can now contemplate doing rides which, before, seemed too long and hard”.

Marion

 

“I love how versatile my Hybrid bike is. I can use it for work, monitoring the Great Taste Trail, and ride it on a variety of terrain, on and off trail, with absolute confidence.’

Bill

 

‘I’ve started a new love affair….with my new Hybrid bike. I’ve named it ‘Mariah’ because it goes like the wind!’

Marion

 

‘We couldn’t have asked for better service from Frank and Jim at Hybrid bikes. They really looked after us. We feel like we are in very capable hands, as we can trust in their on-going interest and pasion for these bikes.

Marion and Bill

 

“It felt really good to be buying local, and buying such an excellent product.”

Bill

Hi Frank, answer to your Questions:

Why did you buy an e-bike?

 

We really enjoy cycling locally and on 3 or 4 day trips at least once a year, so we decided it would be best for Lorraine to upgrade to an E bike. We went looking and it was then that I also decided that in order to stick together I should also invest in one……we are both over 70!

 

Why did you choose a Hybrid e-bike?

 

We had a look around at various makes and models and came across your website, so contacted you and enjoyed the fact that you were very accommodating and invited us to view your own manufactured Hybrids and try them out, we immediately were impressed and decided they suited very well and made the decision to purchase. Of course on of the deciding factors was the fact they were your own design.

 

What advantage do you see with Carbon Fiber?

 

Probably the weight factor, we have a motor home and the less weight the better, the fact being carbon fibre makes them look great, smooth lines, nice! Cheers……Alan & Lorraine

 

Alan & Loraine McKenzie

2019-Apr-14

My wife and I purchased 2 F18 Cruise Elite Specials in December 2020 and so far we have not been disappointed. The bikes are high quality, fantastic to ride and backed up by outstanding end-to-end service and support form Frank. We wanted something that we could enjoy on NZ trails (winery tracks!) and roads and they have been perfect. Their design and style gives you the confidence to ride safely with plenty of power required when needed coupled with great distance range. They have also generated a lot of interest with people asking us about them and where we bought them. If you have any doubt, read the reviews! A great purchase and happy to highly recommend Hybrid Bikes.

Lyndon

Totally happy with my Hybrid Sport Elite choice

Frank/Jim

 

I purchased the first Hybrid Sport Elite bike in November 2018 and had it set up with a custom fitted handle bar including (those bull horn bar thingees!!) I didn’t want a hard out mountain bike, just one that was more sporty looking than the Hybrid Commuter. In addition to using it on urban and rural cycle ways I also wanted to be able to take it on easier off road tracks and trails. After 6 months of use this bike with its powerful motor has ticked all the boxes for me. Head winds and hills are not a problem! The bike also has powerful front and rear lights for those early morning commutes to work. Totally happy with my Hybrid Sport Elite choice.

 

Geoff Cameron

2019-Apr-16

Happiness is my Hybrid. The carbon fibre frame makes it so light I can bike with no power when I’m feeling like a ‘workout’ but I have the power when I need it. Frank and Kim are great to deal with – nothing’s a problem and they are genuinely passionate about their MOST EXCELLENT Hybrids, as am I. One happy Hybrid owner.
Thanks Frank and Jim.

Diane Turner

2000Km on a Sports Elite

In November 2018 I purchased the first ever Hybrid Sport Elite. This weekend after 11 months of cruisy biking I turned over 2000 km on the Abel Tasman Track in Golden Bay. The Sport Elite has eclipsed all my expectations. The bike is light to ride, has great power and takes me places I wouldn’t have gone on my conventional bike. In a nutshell its been a whole lot of painless peddling fun.

Geoff

2019-Oct-14

FANTASTIC to ride

The Hybrid Sport Elite mountain bike is one amazing bike. I wish I had lots more time to spend on it. The performance is unreal, grunty on all terrain, and especially on hill work. The carbon fibre frame, along with its geometric design construction, makes these bikes phenomenally easy and comfortable to ride. On my extensive research before purchasing, I found the Hybrid bikes performance above and beyond a number of top-end well known branded bikes on the market, and at a very competitive price. To sum it up, FANTASTIC to ride.

Peter Hewitt

2019-Apr-27

 

Search and Rescue

The bike trialed was a Hybrid brand E-bike developed in Nelson by Frank Witowski. The bike was put to test on a 50km loop from Marsden Valley and return, via Barnicoat Hill, Jenkins Hill, Third House, Coppermine saddle returning via the Maitai Valley to Nelson City and back to Marsden Rd via the Railway Reserve over Bishopdale Hill.

The bike climbed Glider Rd to the top of Barnicoat effortlessly by using a range of power options available. I estimate an all up weight carried at approx 119 kgs bike inclusive, being rider and gear. The bike has a great range using electric assist and traditional gear shifting. The whole journey on a single battery took me 3 hours 45 minutes which was very good. Total altitude over the 50km loop was 1357m using info from my Suunto Ambit watch. I found the bike well balanced and still pleasantly rideable without power assist.

The question being asked is whether or not an E-bike has a place in SAR operations, after my recent quest my initial thought on this question is a big YES.

Aaron Hunter

2019-Jan-09

Facebook Reviews

Hybrid Bikes Ltd
5.0
Based on 14 reviews
powered by Facebook
Neil Kain
Neil Kain
2022-05-07T06:02:36+0000
These bikes are great but equally important is the service provided by Frank and Jim. This is real high level old fashioned service that makes dealing with the Hybrid Bikes team a... pleasure!! Keep up the great workread more
Kirsty Shaw
Kirsty Shaw
2022-01-02T22:12:50+0000
I just didn't want to give up on my specialized chisal. I did alot of homework before I went to the darkside ie an electric bike. The hybrid sports elite always came out on top... for high quality specs and value for money, I was yet to find out what an amazing guy Frank was to deal with, he has such a passion, not only for his bikes but the people he is dealing with, he is in full personal contact, worrying about the service even if you're not! Thanks Frank for your super efficient service and getting it here for Xmas. The transition has been easy with no regrets I did put the things I loved from my chisal on my Hybrid, seat, pedals and handle bars and it seems pretty similar, but now every ride feels like a down hill, tailwind ride! and bygod that motor has some power much to my husband's dismay his bike just can't keep up. Kirsty Shawread more
Lena Nelson
Lena Nelson
2021-11-15T05:49:36+0000
We had a professional experience with Frank thru buying and shipping bikes to where we live. Didn’t stop there, bikes are totally more then we expected. Easy to ride ( then old... mountain bike) and manoeuvre. We are flying up our steep hills effortlessly. It’s worth every penny. Tku for this well designed bike. Love love Lena and Joelread more
Ann B. Wheatley
Ann B. Wheatley
2021-08-01T03:12:09+0000
I love my new HYBRID bike. It's light and powerful. Frank has been incredibly helpful since the first time I visited to have a look at the bikes he's designed. I also love it that... he is taking action by becoming a climate positive business and working with Ekos to track and offset emissions.read more
David Savage
David Savage
2021-03-30T21:55:28+0000
Hi Frank Great to finally catch up with you a couple of weeks ago. Have just had the bike into the boys at Cranked Cycles Napier for 2000k service. They also fitted the rear... guard you specifically made for me. Apart from 1 blowout and 1 puncture it has been 2000ks trouble free cycling. It was great for you to share your knowledge with us when we visited and we appreciated your wisdom and help. Trust there are many more Ks to be pedalled around the cycle ways in the Bayread more

Google Reviews

Hybrid Bikes Ltd
5.0
Based on 36 reviews
powered by Google
ROGER ADAMS
ROGER ADAMS
07:54 14 Jun 22
I have been searching for months to purchase and E.Bike. When I came across The Hybrid Bikes In Nelson and started reading up on this New Zealand Company I... became very interested, Being a Carbon Fibre Frame made in NZ that carries a life time Warranty on workmanship, a lighter bike than the others I was looking at, which my wife can handle. I made contact and asked if any Bike Shops sold these bike close to Pukekohe. Frank immediately e mailed me back with an incentive re a petrol voucher if I traveled up to Botany which we did on the Sunday. I rode the bike and was very impressed , bought the bike, saddle bag and a new helmet for Wendy. We are keen to hit the Hauraki Trial this weekend with my Sister and her Husband Colin.read more
Ben
Ben
10:18 31 May 22
I bought a M-18 sport elite last year and been riding the bike to work for 6 months, done about 1000kms and the bike is awesome!All the power you need to get... up hills and keep up with traffic. I can get to work in 15 mins instead of 45 mins on the bus or $20 for car parking. It's changed my life 🙂Benread more
Diane Kenwright
Diane Kenwright
21:24 16 May 22
Do you remember the childrens show "The Adventures of Black Beauty", with it's iconic theme tune "Galloping Home" by Denis King? The feeling of being powerful... and free that this tune gives is what I feel when I ride my own "Black Beauty" - the F18 Cruise Elite Special. It takes me up the hill to work everyday with its powerful engine and is very stable when I gallop home again downhill at super speeds. It roams free along trails with ease. Every time I ride it is a joy. Absolutely solid and reliable. I can 100% recommend you join the hybrid family.read more
Brent
Brent
03:02 24 Apr 22
My new carbon fibre bike from Hybrid Bikes is not only light weight and easy to ride , but is a work of art.Having ridden bikes for many year including... competitively, age and health have meant i find it to hard on the ageing body to go for rides.The Hybrid E-Bike has been a game changer for me and allows me the ability to ride with the help of the motor and give me freedom i have missedMany thanks to Frank & his great teamread more
Jan Olissoff
Jan Olissoff
07:51 17 Mar 22
Frank was amazing today. My husband is away and my bike rack started swivelling on the car with my bike on. Being a lady I was stuck and wondered what to do,... so rang Frank who talked me through fitting it correctly to the car and bingo I was able to get home after my bike ride. To have that back up was amazing and such a relief, so again Thank you for not only your wonderful post bike service but for everything re purchase advice, accessories etc.It was greatly appreciatedJan Olissoffread more
Margaret Ingram
Margaret Ingram
23:56 24 Feb 22
I love my carbon fibre Hybrid e-bike. I've had it for 18 months, and it's taken me on many adventures.Even more; I love the outstanding service Hybrid bikes... provide. Last Sunday, after a bike rack incident, Frank not only answered his work phone, he also went to his workshop so I could borrow essential tools, then early the next morning he gave me a replacement wheel so I could  cycle the 4 day Taste Trail. And then when I'd finished, he squeezed me into his busy schedule so he could refurbish the bike.  And he sold me a better quality e-bike rack, then patiently showed me how to use it.Amazing service, thank you so much. More adventures are on the horizon. Thank you Frank.read more
sheryl williams
sheryl williams
04:10 23 Feb 22
Thanks so much for all your help purchasing and setting up our Hybrid e-bikes and trailer to transport our small dog, Frank and Jim. You provide a great... service we like to support a NZ company with servicing locally. Our new Sport Elite and Cruise Elite bikes are robust but with a carbon fibre frame relatively lightweight. They come with lots of extras, are comfortable and easy to ride as well as rating well with NZ Consumer. We highly recommend Hybrid e- bikes if you're looking for a quality bike which we think is good value for moneyread more
Susie Schwartfeger
Susie Schwartfeger
09:19 19 Feb 22
Frank provides not just the most amazing product with his ebikes, his service is second to none.From start to finish when we bought our bikes he couldn’t have... been more helpful or responsive. Then, when one of our bikes was stolen, Frank was incredibly empathetic and went out of his way to ensure a replacement bike could be provisioned as soon as the insurance process was completed.We are now totally brand loyal to Hybrid bikes. Great bikes. Even better service.read more
Peter Warren
Peter Warren
01:45 30 Jan 22
I bought a Hybrid Sports Elite Special in early December 2021 and then another just before Christmas, a low bar for my wife. Since then we have been riding... several times a week. We took them away with us, riding the new trails in the MacKenzie Country and Central Otago, and now have nearly completed the Great Taste Trail in Tasman.These are wonderful bikes, so easy to ride and handle. We are certainly very happy with them.It is always a pleasure dealing with Frank, his enthusiasm is contagious and his service is outstanding.read more
John Buckerfield
John Buckerfield
01:59 30 Dec 21
I have found the M18 Sports Elite Special is ideal for the river trail cycling that I enjoy. It's weight distribution and balance is excellent and I find it... easy to ride. The motor gives just the right range of power-assist and this is so helpful in the winds we get around Greater Wellington!The addition of a cat's-eye mirror and a sprung saddle post makes it safe and comfortable. Frank was very helpful when I phoned to add these to the order.In short: a great bike and excellent service.read more
andrew burgess
andrew burgess
03:26 26 Dec 21
One year on and still loving my M18 bike ,great for exercise,lots of fun and excellent design and build quality,one of my best purchases ever
Belinda Heaphy
Belinda Heaphy
08:10 10 Nov 21
Recently purchased a light weight e gravel bike from Frank with Jim's input. An amazing bike that I am able to lift with one arm and put easily into the back... of the car and also on the bike rack on my own, with little effort.Didn't go with the drop handle bars, but had a seat dropper added and so far have used the bike on forestry tracks, cycleways and the road.Been awesome to commute the 60km return trip to work on it. A colleague jokingly called it a "cheats bike" but I defy anyone to say that they cant get a good work out on it if they want to.Great coming back from work in a South easterly gale last week on the highway safely, "cheating" in nearly full power.Very reasonably priced- totally thrilled with it. many thanks Frank.read more
Reuben Allum
Reuben Allum
06:19 10 Nov 21
Review from purchaser Caroline Allum.I’m extremely happy with my new F18 Cruiser Elite (Special) ebike.I bought my bike online during lockdown after doing... some internet research and having a helpful phone chat with Frank. When I collected my bike the frame was bigger than I had expected, but with the seat adjusted right down, the fit is good and the bike is very comfortable to ride. I like the upright posture which puts less strain on my neck and shoulders if riding any distance. I also got a comfort seat which I have to say was money well spent!So far I have ridden on Auckland roads and cycleways, including hills, and the bike has felt safe and easy to handle. The gears change very smoothly and the transition between assist settings is hardly noticeable. There is plenty of ‘help’ for hills.All in all this is a very smooth bike both in looks and ride!The service and communication from Frank has been excellent and I have no doubt that he and his team will be there if any problems or issues should ever arise. This is a good feeling given the investment required to own a good ebike. I’m so pleased that I chose a Hybrid bike and it’s also great to be supporting a NZ business.read more
Helena Falk
Helena Falk
03:36 13 Oct 21
I bought a Hybrid e-bike a couple of months ago. Very pleased with it and it makes commuting 50 km a day very easy and much quicker than my old e-bike. Frank... has provided first class service and goes the extra mile for his customers! If your thinking about buying one, just do it! You won't regret it 😊👍read more
Louise Lyne
Louise Lyne
19:41 21 Sep 21
Have just bought a Hybrid Sport Elite and am really pleased with it. Adds a whole new dimension to cycling when you can just head off wherever suits you... rather than thinking how steep hills are. I live up a really steep hill and nice to end up at home on your bike rather than having pushed it for the last 10 minutes!! It's such a comfortable ride and I am finding a lot of the time I hardly need any extra power as it's not too heavy but so great to click that button when you need it! Frank was so helpful, I had never ridden an e bike before I went to see him but he helped me make choices to suit and I am thrilled. Love that it's kiwi designed and built too. Excited about lots of e bike trips ahead. Thanks Frank!read more
Gary Davis
Gary Davis
21:25 15 Sep 21
Nancy and I had been riding on our standard bikes for some years.We are casual riders and we like to do Trails-we are not hard out typesSuddenly our... conventional bikes seemed to be hard work and we were not going out for a ride very often.We then heard about Hybrid Bikes, did some research and then visited Frank at his home workshop.From the start we could feel the right vibes with various adjustments to the bikes ,some essential riding tips and we were off for a test ride.Soon became obvious that these were the bikes for us.Frank is extremely helpful and he goes out of his way to ensure the bikes are exactly fit for the riderWe thoroughly enjoy riding the bikes and now feel confident with them .The motors are powerful and effective and the technology is top notchLooking forward to a summer of cyclingread more
Geoff Hobson
Geoff Hobson
01:43 13 Sep 21
Having ridden various e bikes over a total of about 8,000 Km, I recently bought a Hybrid Elite Cruiser, mainly because of the lighter, stronger carbon fibre... frame. The bike has a super smooth Bafang motor, plenty of grunt for hill climbing and is comfortable, especially with a suspension seat extra fitted. Hybrid Bikes and their agent in New Plymouth are helpful and supportive. After a few tweaks at the first free service I can highly recommend these Kiwi engineered e-bikes.read more
James Haughton
James Haughton
08:40 08 Sep 21
I love my Hybrid Bike! I purchased my M18 Speedmaster in 2019 and wish I had got one much earlier. Now that I have my Hybrid, I bike a lot more. I commute over... 150kms a week in Wellington over multiple hills and often in gale force winds. The power and quality design of the bike make the trip a breeze. I have now done 14,000 kms and counting. The bike has some handy safety features, including nice bright lights which makes me feel safe on my early morning rides. What stands out most of all though is the service provided by Frank and the team at Hybrid. Extremely responsive and they go the extra mile every time. Very happy with my purchase.read more
Ann Riley
Ann Riley
06:31 31 Jul 21
I am extremely happy with my new ebike! Frank and Jim were exceptionally helpful with their advice from Day 1!With Frank's expertise and endless patience with... me, I now have a very comfortable ebike - fitted out especially for me which I am thoroughly enjoying, considering I was " never going to buy an ebike"!I highly recommend HYBRID BIKES LIMITED. The service is just the best - and nothing is ever a problem!!Thank you Frank!read more
Rhonda Henderson
Rhonda Henderson
05:13 05 Jun 21
Bought a sport Hybrid a few months ago with Jim's expert help..I must say I have been out and about around the Island biking up hill and down.. From... Queenstown to Arrowtown...Coffee Culture Christchurch bike Trail ...Sumner to Lyttleton over Evan's pass...nothing holds me back now...absolutely love my " Miss Daisy " keeping up with my partner now makes our trips even more satisfying.Thank you Frank and Jim you guys "Rock"read more
Diane Turner
Diane Turner
05:31 13 Feb 21
Happiness is my Hybrid. The carbon fibre frame makes it so light I can bike with no power when I’m feeling like a ‘workout’ but I have the power, when I need... it.Frank and Jim are great to deal with - nothings a problem and they are genuinely passionate about their MOST EXCELLENT Hybrids, as am I. One happy Hybrid owner .. thanks Frank and Jim.read more
Greg Biggs
Greg Biggs
08:33 06 Feb 21
I had heard all the reviews so decided I had to try one myself. 50k later, I'm blown away, these are fantastic.... soo much lighter than our friends... electrics that we did our ride with. Also, our friends electric shut down with 25% charge.read more
Laura Trueman
Laura Trueman
08:32 06 Feb 21
We rode today for the first time in 2 years so not really at peak fitness levels however on Frank's Hybrid Bikes we took on over 50kms without a second... thought. The seats were uber comfortable with full suspension making going over bumps and holes a breeze . Highly recommend these as the best electric bikes on the market. Tailored to what we wanted so definitely the personal touch. Frank knows his stuff.read more
KIM WALLACE-THEXTON
KIM WALLACE-THEXTON
02:12 30 Nov 20
We bought our bikes a few months ago and couldn't be happier with them. The bikes have been custom built to our spec and are therefore so comfy to ride You can... choose how soft you want your seat and how upright a riding style you prefer (amongst other things) Great for all the cycle ways being constructed. Would highly recommend.read more
Chris Walmsley
Chris Walmsley
06:58 24 Oct 19
Frank and jimmy spent plenty of time explaining about their bike story. Had a test ride , brilliant , easy operation and effortless. My models in development,... keep up the great work. Well doneread more
Next Reviews
js_loader

CUSTOMER CARE

You can breathe easy knowing that our New Zealand based customer care team is available 7 days a week. If you have questions about any aspect of HYBRID E-Bikes including sales, technical or warranty, we are ready to help.